girl to girl

There’s a special covenant between a girl and her girlfriends.

I am certain my girlfriends tell their S.O.’s (significant others) about the on dits. I don’t really care if they do, as I trust them and their judgment. But there’s a line you don’t cross and once crossed there’s no going back.

I’ve already mentioned C in an earlier post. She hurt me deeply once upon a time and I was never able to fully trust her in the not quite happily ever after. I feared at some point, and she did prove me right, that she would do it again. The worst part was she did it to all of us.

I am so grateful and thankful for Miss H, Miss J, and Miss M. They are always there for me when I need someone to hear me out in a heart-to-heart even when they are so busy with their own lives. I have never had a moment where I felt hesitant to tell them my thoughts or my feelings. To have such great friends, I am blessed.

Still I have my moments where my natural tendency to trust, to be honest and too open has made me too vulnerable. Sometimes you place your trust in the wrong people for whatever reason and you learn the hard way that it has been misplaced. But I think it is better to know who your real friends are than to never have your eyes be opened to the truth.

Betrayal stings the worst when you least expect it.

“Friends are the family you get to choose.”

– Jess C. Scott

Leave a Reply

